GIVING FALSE INFORMATION TO LAW ENFORCEMENT
In Florida, it is a crime to knowingly give false information to the police. Florida Statute 837.05 provides:
“a person who knowingly gives false information to a law enforcement officer concerning the alleged commission of any crime, commits a misdemeanor of the first degree.”
A person commits a felony of the third degree if they have been previously convicted of giving false information.
This is not to be confused with False Report of a Crime which occurs when the reported crime never occurred. Giving false information concerns an actual crime where the wrong information is given concerning said crime.
Giving False Information in Florida is a first-degree misdemeanor and is punishable as follows:
Maximum 1 year in jail; or
Maximum 1 year of probation; and
Second Offense (3rd degree felony):
Up to 5 years in prison; or
5 years of probation; and
Different defenses are available depending on the facts of the case, however, not every case will have a defense. The defenses can be legal or factual in nature such as:
Prosecution cannot prove the information was in fact “false”
Prosecution cannot prove the defendant knew the information was false